HUB Certificate CMBL Authorization
HUB Certified CMBL Authorization

HUB Certification –
A HUB is defined as a profit-making corporation, sole proprietorship, partnership, or joint venture in which at least 51 percent of the shares or stock or other equitable securities are owned by one or more persons who are members of the following groups:

  • Black American – includes all persons having origins of Black racial groups of Africa;
  • Hispanic American – includes all persons of Mexican, Puerto Rican, Cuban, Central or South American, or other Spanish/Portuguese culture or origin, regardless of race;
  • Asian Pacific American – includes persons whose origins are from Japan, China, Taiwan, Korea, Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia, the Philippines, Samoa, Guam, the U. S. Territories of the Pacific, or the Northern Marianas; and Subcontinent Asian Americans which includes persons whose origins are from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Bhutan, or Nepal;
  • Native American – includes persons who are American Indians, Eskimos, Aleuts, or Native Hawaiians; and
  • Women – includes women of any ethnicity, except those specified above.

The 51% owner must also be a Texas resident. The Texas Legislature requires state agencies to make a good faith effort to give HUBs part of the total contract value of all contracts. During the fiscal year, state agencies are expected to meet the following percentages (only contract types primarily used at TWC are listed) :

  • 57.2% for all special trade construction contracts;
  • 20% for professional services contracts;
  • 33% for all other services contracts; and
  • 12.6% for commodities contracts.

Women Owned Small Business (WOSB) Certification

What is the WOSB Program?
The WOSB Program is a program that authorizes contracting officers to specifically limiting, or setting aside, certain requirements for competition solely amongst women-owned small businesses (WOSBs) or economically disadvantaged women-owned small businesses (EDWOSBs).

What is the purpose of the WOSB Program?
The Federal government has both prime contracting and subcontracting goals for small businesses. More specifically, 23% of Federal prime contracts dollars shall be awarded to small businesses, with individual prime and subcontracting goals for certain identified small business groups. The Federal government must award 5% of its prime and subcontract dollars to women-owned small businesses. In
addition, each Federal agency negotiates annual small business goals with the Small Business Administration (SBA) that presents, for that agency, the maximum practicable opportunity for small businesses. The goal attained by the individual agency is then used to calculate the Government-wide small business goal, including the individual prime and subcontracting goals for the identified small
business groups, such as women-owned small businesses.

One purpose of this program is to enable contracting officers to meet these goals by specifically limiting, or setting aside, certain requirements for competition solely amongst WOSBs or EDWOSBs and ensure a level playing field on which such small businesses can compete for Federal contracting opportunities.

Latson's Printing Services

Email Signup Form